History is taught as part of the Australian National Curriculum, and Goomalling has its own rich history to teach. The Shire of Goomalling has a museum, historic homestead, and many local people who can teach our students about local history.Our school history1906 – 1954The original Goomalling Primary School was a one classroom weatherboard building in Throssell St. In those days there were several other smaller schools dotted around the Shire.1955 – 1969The school moved to a new building made of corrugated iron in William St, which is now being used by the Mens Shed.1970 – 1988To cater for more students the current school building was built in Hoddy St and operated as a District High School until 1988. 2006Goomalling Primary School celebrated 100 years of education.Goomalling historyGoomalling is a Noongar word meaning 'place of possums'. The original Indigenous people, the Ballardong people, spoke the Tjapanmay dialect of the Noongar language. Many place names in Goomalling today are the original Noongar names. The district was explored in 1854 by Assistant Surveyor Austin and the earliest white settler in Goomalling was George Slater, whose historic 'Slater Homestead' can be visited 3km east of the Goomalling townsite. The Benedictine Monks of New Norcia once held extensive grazing rights in the area. Goomalling was declared a township in 1903, a year after the railway line from Northam was officially opened.